Post Office of any address change within 30 days of making the change. Driving With a Suspended License If your license or permit has been suspended or revoked for any reason, it is not valid. Everything you need to know for your written test is found in this manual. If your license has been expired for 4 years or longer, you will also be required to take a road test. Driving Records You can order a copy of your Massachusetts driving record by phone or Internet.
Some of our users come back and say that they recognized almost all questions on the real exam from our practice tests. Is a Practice Test the Same as the Real Test? If you do, prior to taking a road test, you must submit medical clearance, from your physician, to a Branch manager. While you may drive in the United States with your valid foreign license from one of the countries listed in Appendix A of this manual for up to one year from the date you entered the country as a visitor, you must still apply for a Massachusetts license when you establish residency in the Commonwealth. If you take any substance that affects your awareness and your reflexes, you are no longer safe to drive. You can retake the test again in 1 day. This fee is per driver, not per vehicle. The driving test questions in Massachusetts that appear on the knowledge exam can be intimidating if you are a test-taker who has not adequately prepared.
These features perform or substantially assist a driver with certain driving, parking, or backing skills. If a hearing cannot be held there, the branch staff can tell you where to go for a hearing. Distractions Due to Mobile Cell Phone Use Sending or Reading Electronic Messages You cannot use any mobile electronic device to write, send, or read an electronic message including text messages, emails, instant messages, or accessing the Internet while driving. This is one reason why laws are stronger for under-21 drivers. See Appendix D for color images of licenses issued by Massachusetts.
If it did expire, you will need to pay the normal renewal fee. If you are convicted, your license will be suspended for one year. For a first speeding offense, you will be suspended for 90 days; for a subsequent offense, you will be suspended for one year. You must submit an original certified driving record from your home territory or country. If you do not respond to a citation within 20 days, you will be found responsible and charged a large late fee. It will also test your ability to identify and interpret road signs and street markings. Reduce your speed and safely pull over to the side of the road.
Continue reading this page to find links to all the publications and resources you need to get on the road in Massachusetts. If not in English, the certificate must be translated see Translation Required section. Seven out of 10 new drivers fail the written driving test on their first try. You should always wear both lap and shoulder belts. If the vehicle is rejected for this reason, you will not be charged a fee for that scheduled road test, but you will need to reschedule and bring an appropriate vehicle for the next road test. You must park how many feet from a corner? See Chapter Two for a list of the penalties and fees you will face for violating any of these restrictions.
Passenger Vehicle Requirements To be acceptable to the examiner, the vehicle you bring to the road test must meet all requirements in this section. Wear eyeglasses, goggles, or a protective face shield, unless your motorcycle has a windshield or a screen. M Any motor vehicle defined as a motorcycle in M. If you get a hardship license, you must use the device the entire time you have the hardship license. Do you need to take an on-road motorcycle riding test? In Person All states offer the drivers license knowledge exam in person, and most states require you to take the exam at a physical testing facility. Coast Guard Merchant Mariner card with photo and signature 3. It rates as the ultimate study guide for passing the written license test.
For a Class D license, you are not allowed to attempt more than six road tests in a 12-month period. If your record indicates you have had a valid license for a full six months, without suspension or revocation, you will not be subject to the passenger restriction. Massachusetts Driver's License Limited to Massachusetts Residents If your privilege to drive on your valid foreign license has expired because more than one year has elapsed since your last date of arrival in this country, or if you are visiting for business or pleasure and are trying to acquire your first driver's license, your ability to obtain a Massachusetts driver's license is limited. At-fault accidents and motor vehicle violations count toward possible license suspension. When you have studied all chapters in the manual, take as many practice tests as you need. Age Requirement No person under the age of 16 may drive in Massachusetts. To pass the exam, you must answer 18 questions correctly within the allotted time of 25 minutes.
Helmets that meet this standard will be labeled with stickers on the inside and outside. How do you make a left turn at an intersection? Once this is done, you may book your road test. The Massachusetts is also available online, if you're interested in reading about traffic laws in the state. What does a flashing red light signify? Finds you at fault according to one of the 19 Standards of Fault. Department of Justice including Executive Office for Immigration Review, Board of Immigration Appeals and former Immigration and Naturalization Service , or U. Always wear your safety belts.